While it is legal for personal use in some states, the use and possession of marijuana remains illegal in Georgia. It may seem like a harmless and even natural drug, but legislators and police in our state have drawn a line in the sand when it comes to marijuana. In fact, most offenses related to marijuana are actually charged as felonies.
Marijuana for Personal Use
One of the only marijuana-related offenses that is charged as a misdemeanor is possession of one ounce or less of marijuana for personal use. This charge is punishable by one year in jail and up to $1,000 in fines.
Possessing more than one ounce is a felony punishable by one to 10 years in prison and a maximum $5,000 fine.
Other Marijuana Offenses
For possession, sale, delivery or cultivation, penalties for conviction are determined by the amount of marijuana.
- 10 pounds or less: one-10 years in prison, $5,000 in fines
- 10-2,000 pounds: five to 30 years in prison, $100,000 in fines
- 2,000 to 10,000 pounds: seven to 30 years in prison, $250,000 in fines
- Over 10,000 pounds: 15 to 30 years in prison and $1 million in fines
Regardless of the amount, if you are charged with and convicted of possession, sale, delivery or cultivation within 1,000 feet of a school or park, you can face five to 40 years in prison and a $40,000 fine.
Defense in Your Marijuana Drug Crimes Case
If you or a loved one is facing any charges related to marijuana, it is extremely important that you work with an experienced drug crimes defense attorney. Drug offenses are punished harshly in Georgia. You need an aggressive advocate on your side who will work to get you the best possible result in your case.
FREE Case Evaluations
Fill Out A Free Online Evaluation Today!
Request My FREE Case Review!